Last Day of July Photo Contest… New August Photo Contest!

Well, folks, the title says it all. In the last month, I’ve had a grand total of 5 submissions for this photo contest. Not very many, you say?  Yes. I was hoping for just a few more. In light of this, I’ll be choosing a photograph from this batch as a winner but will not be using it as the cover photo for Book 3. The correct elements were just not present in all of these photographs. I’ll announce the winner next Sunday and they will still receive an Amazon gift certificate for $25 and a free copy of Books 1 and 2.

Now: why I’m not using any of the photos for my cover. There were 5 photos. 4 had boats in them, one had a spectacular sunset. Three of these photos featured foggy misty weather which wasn’t what I was looking for. Also, most of them were taken on the ocean instead of a lake or a pond. What I really want for this photograph is color. I’m not looking for a dark and unsettling photo like what I had used in the previous books. I want the photograph to exude a calmness. The rowboat came from also wanting someone to feel isolated when they looked at the photo.

The idea behind this dream cover photo is that a character used to go to this pond as a temporary refuge away from home. They spent many hours there because they felt safe there. And they were alone. No one else knew about this place.

So basically, this is what I’m going to do. I’m going to start an August Photo Contest. If you have a photo of a sunset OR sunrise at a pond (or lake). Plain and simple. I don’t care if there’s a rowboat in the photograph. If there is one, great. But the water and the colors of sunset or sunrise are the important things. Here is an example of what I mean.

REMEMBER: calm water. I’d really prefer if the water was flat and calm as opposed to being choppy. NO OCEANS.

This contest will continue through August until the 19th! One photo per person.

Same rules still apply. Send the photo to info@voxthebook.com with your name and a return email address. This photo must be unpublished and I need to be able to edit it for the cover.

Prizes: If a photograph meets the certain requirements, it will be picked as the cover for Memento Mori: Book 3 of The Monstrum Chronicles. The winner will also receive free copies of Vox, Aequitas, and Memento Mori (when it is available next year), as well as a $25 gift certificate to Amazon.

I’d also really appreciate it if you spread the word and told your friends. The more people who know about this contest; the better.

~KSilva