Onions are Evil and a Mango is Just Like the Human Body

COOKING ADVENTURES #8: Caribbean Grilled Crab Cakes with Mango Salsa

Folks, I am crying. Contrary to what you might be thinking, I am not crying because of injury. I’m not crying because the recipe was disastrous and I’m not crying because I burned my tongue. It’s the onion. The blasted onion. And it’s not even a whole one either. I should also mention that I finished eating my crab cakes about forty-five minutes ago. I’m in my living room far away from the kitchen and whatever onion fumes may still linger there. I can still taste it though. Like the ghost of onion’s past, it’s going to haunt me and remind me of how bad an idea it was to include it in the recipe, even if the recipe called for it. Of all the times I decided not to take my own advice… grumble, grumble…

Continue reading